top of page

The Four Stages of Labor: From Anticipation to Triumph!

Updated: Jun 6, 2023

What stage of labor and delivery generally take the longest?

As you prepare for your upcoming birth, you may wonder about the process of labor and birthing your baby. Labor and delivery are typically divided into three main stages: first stage, which includes early labor, active labor and transition; second stage which is the birth of the baby; and third stage, which is the delivery of the placenta. In general, the first stage of labor is the longest and can take the most time.

Let's break it down further and get a quick snap shot of the three stages of labor. They are as follows:

1. First Stage: This stage of labor is broken down further into three phases. Each phase has its own pattern and will differ with each individual for length of time, whether a first time parent or not. Let’s look at the first stage of labor and why it takes the most time.

  • Early labor: This phase marks the onset of regular contractions and the gradual opening (dilation) of the cervix. During this phase, contractions are usually mild and irregular at first, gradually becoming more frequent, intense and occurring at longer intervals. The cervix begins to efface (thin out) and dilate to around 3-4 centimeters. Early labor can last anywhere from a few hours to days, especially for first-time parents. (This is your answer to the question above).

  • Active labor: This phase begins when the cervix is around 4- 6 centimeters dilated and continues until it reaches 10 centimeters. Contractions become stronger, more frequent and regular. The intensity picks up as well, involving increased pressure and discomfort. Active labor typically lasts several hours, but the duration can vary. For first-time individuals, it usually takes longer compared to parents who have given birth before.

  • Transition: The transition phase is the final part of the first stage of labor. It occurs when the cervix is fully dilated to 10 centimeters. During this phase, contractions are very intense, strong, and close together. Individuals may experience intense pressure, a strong urge to push, and a variety of physical and emotional sensations.Transition is often described as the most challenging and intense part of labor. It is typically shorter than the earlier phases but can still last up to a couple of hours.

2. Second Stage: The second stage of labor begins when the cervix is fully dilated and

ends with the birth of the baby. During this stage, the individual actively pushes with each contraction to help the baby move through the birth canal. The baby's head crowns (becomes visible at the vaginal opening) and eventually delivers. The second stage can last anywhere from a few minutes to a few hours.

3. Third Stage: The third stage of labor involves the delivery of the placenta. After the

baby is born, the uterus continues to contract, causing the placenta to separate from the uterine wall. The healthcare provider will typically assist in delivering the placenta and ensure that the uterus is properly contracting to minimize bleeding. This stage usually takes around 5-30 minutes.

It's important to note that the duration and progress of each stage can vary from individual to individual. Each stage can be influenced by various factors, including the individual's body, previous childbirth experiences, and other factors such as the use of pain relief measures or medical interventions.

Additionally, if there are medical interventions or complications they may require adjustments to the normal progression of labor. It's advisable to consult with your healthcare provider or midwife for personalized information and guidance throughout your labor and delivery process.

4. Fourth Stage: Once the baby is born this is the "fourth stage", which is the recovery period or the beginning of the golden hour and the postpartum period. The "Golden Hour" is the first hour after birth when the new parent and newborn have an uninterrupted and intimate bonding experience.

During this time, the environment is kept calm and quiet to allow for a deep connection to form. Skin-to-skin contact is a key component of the Golden Hour, where the naked newborn is placed on the new parent's bare chest. This practice offers numerous benefits, including temperature regulation, stimulation of the senses, enhanced breastfeeding initiation, and reduced stress levels for both mother and baby. These practices promote bonding, successful breastfeeding, and a positive start to their lifelong relationship, creating a strong foundation for the mother-baby connection.

In conclusion, the process of labor and delivery consists of four main stages: the first stage, which includes early labor, active labor, and transition; the second stage, where the baby is born through active pushing; and the third stage, which involves the delivery of the placenta, and the final "fourth stage" of recovery. Each stage has its own characteristics and can vary in duration for each individual. It's important for expectant mothers to seek guidance from healthcare professionals to navigate these stages and ensure a safe and healthy delivery.

Did you know that early labor is the longest stage? If you've had a prior labor, how long was your first stage? Please share in comments below!

Birth and Postpartum Doula, Fort Collins, CO
Birth and Postpartum Doula, Fort Collins, CO


bottom of page